Book Illumination: The Secrets of the Middle Ages in Pictures (Part 3)

Now that we have explained the context of the miniatures, what to ask them, and which stylistic periods they cover, it is time to go into the details.

This video is about the symbolism of the drawings, the meaning of the animals, plants, colours and shapes. What does the artist want to tell us? What is the meaning of what we see? How can we give meaning to what we see and do not understand?

Parchments and books were very expensive in the Middle Ages. Very few people could read and write, and even fewer could afford a book. So how can we interpret art from a time when hardly any information was recorded?

What does this witness of a forgotten time want to tell us? What could be so important that a book was written for it? To get a rough idea of what we see, we have to break the picture down into its details and interpret them.

Be it colours, shapes, plants, animals or people. Everything had meaning, everything has a reason and appears consciously in the drawing. Find out with this video what the artists of the time want to tell us.

⏰⏰ TOPICS ⏰⏰

0:00​ Symbolism and methodology

0:08 Intro

0:23 Axes of time and value

1:01 Symbolism

1:38 Forms

1:53 Animals

2:31 Plants

 

3:40 Colours

4:22 Personification of the feelings

5:39 Size hierarchy and position

6:01 A journey that never ends

6:44 See you soon!

6:59 Outro

7:14 Acknowledgement

We use cookies to give you the best experience.

Buchmalerei: Die Geheimnisse des Mittelalters in Bildern (Teil 3)

Nachdem wir den Kontext der Miniaturen erläutert haben, was man diese fragen muss, und welche Stilepochen diese umfassen, ist es nun an der Zeit, auf die Details einzugehen.

So handelt dieses Video von der Symbolik der Zeichnungen, der Bedeutung der Tiere, Pflanzen, Farben und Formen. Was möchte uns der Künstler sagen? Welche Bedeutung hat, was wir sehen? Wie können wir dem, was wir sehen und nicht verstehen, einen Sinn geben?

Pergamente und Bücher waren im Mittelalter sehr teuer. Lesen und schreiben konnten die Wenigsten, sich ein Buch leisten noch weniger. Wie können wir also Kunst aus einer Zeit, wo kaum Informationen festgehalten wurden, interpretieren?

Was möchte uns dieser Zeuge einer vergessenen Zeit sagen? Was konnte so wichtig sein, dass man hierfür ein Buch schreiben lässt? Um sich eine ungefähre Idee über das, was wir sehen, zu machen, müssen wir das Bild in seine Details zerlegen, und diese interpretieren. 

Seien es Farben, Formen, Pflanzen, Tiere oder Personen. Alles hatte Bedeutung, alles hat einen Grund und erscheint bewusst auf der Zeichnung. Finden Sie mit diesem Video heraus, was uns die Künstler der Zeit sagen möchten.

⏰⏰ THEMEN ⏰⏰

0:00​ Symbolik und Methodik

0:08 Intro

0:23 Zeit- und Wertachsen

1:01 Symbolik

1:38 Formen

1:53 Tiere

2:31 Pflanzen

 

3:40 Farben

4:22 Personifizierung der Gefühle und Eigenschaften

5:39 Größenhierarchie und Position

6:01 Eine Reise, die niemals endet

6:44 Bis Bald!

6:59 Outro

7:14 Danksagung

We use cookies to give you the best experience.